Feb 9, 2018

More Rock Werchter: 11 new names, 1 new stage!

There are 11 new names to join the bill of Rock Werchter 2018. Ben Howard, James Bay, Alice In Chains, At The Drive In, The Vaccines, Stone Sour, George Ezra, Anne-Marie, PVRIS, IAMDDB and JP Cooper have been added to the line-up.

The Rock Werchter Festival takes place from Thursday 5 to Sunday 8 July at the Festivalpark in Werchter (Belgium), which will look the same, yet different, this year. It will be more beautiful than ever with the newly-laid lanes and freshly-planted trees and shrubs. And it's not just the Festivalpark that's had a makeover. The festival itself has had its familiar, successful formula refined, with more music on a new stage: The Slope. The multi-functional slope that was introduced in 2017 is to be given an additional role. A stage is to be built beneath the highest point of The Slope. The picnic tables will be moved a little further along. The space created under the colourful flags will become a cosy open-air arena for the young pups, the stars of tomorrow, and the newest discoveries of the festival bookers. Herman Schueremans: "It's no secret that we've been longing for a fourth stage. There are so many bands – not yet well-known – that we would love to introduce to the Rock Werchter audience. They are internationally known for being very receptive, and artists who go down well are warmly embraced, often forever. We've got some treats in store for music lovers.”

That's not the only Rock Werchter upgrade this year. The Barn will be getting larger. It's still just as good as a concert hall, with the best acoustics and great comfort for visitors. From this summer on, up to 20,000 festival-goers will be able to enjoy the concerts in The Barn. At your service!

2018 is a vintage year for Rock Werchter. Queens Of The Stone Age, Gorillaz, The Script, James Bay, Marshmello, Alice In Chains, At The Drive In, The Vaccines, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Vince Staples and Anne-Marie have been confirmed for Thursday 5 July. Friday 6 July's bill includes London Grammar, Snow Patrol, Ben Howard, Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals, Angus & Julia Stone, The Kooks and IAMDDB. Pearl Jam, Jack White, Jack Johnson, Fleet Foxes, Khalid, MGMT, Stereophonics, Stone Sour, Petit Biscuit and JP Cooper play on Saturday 7 July, while Arctic Monkeys will bring the festival to a close on Sunday 8 July, joined by Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds, Nine Inch Nails, Eels, David Byrne, George Ezra, Fever Ray, Kaleo, Roméo Elvis, Rone and PVRIS.

​​​​​​​Tickets for Rock Werchter 2018 are available at ticketmaster.be and proximusgoformusic.be.